The stuff we take for granted… Malawi 09/10

Hello again ^_^ Today —- mission is a longer post! And also to update 101 in 1001, do my pointless contest, and my maths homework, Yayyy(!)

So, you may be wondering what the title means today. And guess what? The title ACTUALLY MEANS SOMETHING! I know… big stuff right? Well, to be honesst it isn’t THAT hard to guess what it means, if you know where Malawi is.

Okay, let’s start at the beginning. My high school, NBHS, is over the course of this school year (09/10, see that part of the title now? xD) taking part in an exciting initiative to raise awareness of life in Malawi. Oh, and enhance it a bit too. The first thing we’re doing is the Back Pack Project. This is being done with the charity MARY’S MEALS (visit them over here!). Basically, you collect backpacks and send them to schoolchildren in Malawi (with stuff IN the bags, obviously).

We just find old school bags which are in good nick, and fill them up with stationery, toiletries and some clothing items like….

  • Notepad
  • Pencils
  • Pens
  • Crayons
  • Eraser
  • Ruler
  • Sharpener
  • Pencil Case
  • Towel
  • Shorts
  • shorts/shirt & t-shirt, or dress
  • Flip Flops/Sandals
  • Small ball e.g. tennis ball
  • Soap
  • Toothbrush
  • Toothpaste
  • and a spoon

(obviously, we label the bag with what kind of age its for, and if its for a girl or a boy)

NBHS is working with the cluster primary schools (which feed into the HS) to try and collect 1500 backpacks. 750 from us, and the rest from the primary schools (there are 5, including the primary school I went to). I desperately want to help, so I’ve been thinking which bag I could use to donate. And also what I’m putting into it!

PHASE 2

We are also collecting £7000 just in our school (I think, or the primary schools could be helping) to also pay for a kitchen to be made IN THE SAME SCHOOL WE ARE SENDING OUR BAGS TOO!! This will mean that the kids there will get a proper meal whilst at school, whereas before they wouldn’t have.

This will also mean more kids will come to school because they get a free square meal! MMM.

We watched some videos from the Mary’s Meals website about the Backpack Project and also about building a kitchen in my PSE class on Wednesday.

AND GUESS WHAT?! Because I am an involving person, and love raising money, I have already started! I skipped my lunch on Wednesday (FIRST TIME EVER, k?) and with the money I didn’t spend on lunch, I am donating to the Malawi cause! I feel like I actually have done something to help now 🙂

We were meant to be bringing in money to donate today, but I forgot.

Luckily though, because it was ze launch of the appeal today, a lot of money was raised anyway! So I will have to find out where to donate my £2 I didn’t spend on lunch to……

Also, as I said it was the launch, I missed a bit of Physics before break, as I had an earlier break! Then I sang during normal break to welcome the VIPS! 😮 Then I also missed part of French because we were singing in the canteen to some people (all the rest of the school were back in class by then, phew, lol)

So I was pretty busy today! 🙂

IN OTHER NEWS…..

Let’s see, I’ve been sending some postcrossing cards! Yaaaay! My China one arrived yesterday, and my Finland card arrived a few days earlier 🙂 So now I am officially due 2 new postcards! I can’t wait for them to arrive in the post!

Unfortunately, next week is ridden with tests. Well, two tests to be precise. But I’m sooooo going to FAILS THEM. On Tuesday I have a Physics test, and on Friday I have a FRENCH SPEAKING TEST.

AND

I HAVE TO….

MEMORISE A 200 WORD ESSAY FOR IT. :O

Omgomgomgomg. I’m so going to fail that! I feel bad already about it…

*sniff* So I am just going to grin and bear it – I will revise for both of them. Thoroughly. VERY thoroughly.

HEY HEY! I have good new! You know that video I made for Dubit Insider? I got a thankyou card and a £5 voucher for it! woo 🙂 I spent 3 days not for absolutely nothing XD

Hmmm. Okay this post is now verging on 760 words. I may just stop typing now! I will try to remember what else I was saying, and pop it in my next post XD

Ciao for now! x

Spinning tops and rainbow cassettes…

Beanie

Comments
6 Responses to “The stuff we take for granted… Malawi 09/10”
  1. CherryDiva says:

    Wow, that back pack thing sounds SO COOL! I’d love to do something like that. Maybe you can decorate your back pack to look extra funky! may I ask, what is post crossing? It sounds interesting….

    Good luck on your tests! They sound horrible. I feel your pin, we go homework FOR THE HOLIDAYS!!!

  2. CherryDiva says:

    Sorry I meant pain, not pin. LOL!

  3. Beanie says:

    xDD Thanks! It is cool, I can’t wait to start collecting stuff to put in one of my old bags!!

    Postcrossing.com is a website where you can send postcards to strangers, basically, and whenever you send one, you will receive one back from a random person too! It’s so cool 🙂 I have sent 4 – and I have got 2. But I’m waiting on another 2 to come!!

    Thanks for the good luck xD I definitely will need it! I have so far memorised 2 (out of 6) paragraphs. So far so good!

    Good luck for your homework! *squish*

  4. NeonGlitter says:

    BLOG BINGO STARTING TODAY ON MY BLOG!!!

    http://princessreader.blogspot.com

    Amber
    P.S Please can you send me the link for Dubit? Thnx.

  5. sara says:

    OMG! I have my french speaking coming up tomorrow! and i did my writing last week. and i have my maths and physics next week. grr! :L

    • Beanie says:

      Oooooh! Good luck on that! I hope you get a 1 🙂 You’re doing Physics Credit Standard Grade right? Watch out for the question that asks you to explain why it’s got a reaction time of 0.7 seconds (or something along those lines).

      Good luck, ‘cos it’s a hard one!

Leave a Reply

